Tuesday Links

  1. Allan Gregg’s essay “Tecumseh’s Ghost” is a riveting read. Extremely well written, and a great mix of history and politics—as well as how history erases certain stories. This is how the essay opens:

    200 years ago today, in what is now called Moraviantown, Ontario, the great Shawnee warrior, Tecumseh was killed defending Canada against invading American troops during the War of 1812. After waging a fearsome battle with the encroaching American militia for over five years, Tecumseh had struck terror in the hearts of American settlers, soldiers and commanders alike. His alliance with the British General, Isaac Brock, and their victory at Detroit, decisively shifted the early momentum in the War to Canada’s favour. No longer could the Americans boast that victory would be (as Thomas Jefferson promised then President James Madison) “a mere matter of marching.” Indeed, it can be said that it was Tecumseh – as much as any other single individual – who saved Canada in the War of 1812.


    Growing up in Canada’s public school system, I was never taught this. Attending a PhD program with a minor in Canadian history, I never learned this.

     

  2. I was shocked and thrilled to see Alice Munro won the Nobel Prize this week. Shocked because I guess I just didn’t expect a Canadian to win. And thrilled because I read her stories through my teens and twenties and into my thirties. Admittedly it’s been a while now. I’m tempted to reread her stories from the very beginning. I love this short interview of her at The Globe and Mail.

  3. A writeup of The Underground Influence of Georgette Heyer from the Sirens conference. Some crunchy thoughts and a list of fantasy books with a strong Heyer influence. (For the record, I loved Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.)

  4. An interview of Audrey Niffenegger at Dear Author. I adored The Time Traveler’s Wife, and I think any fan of the book will enjoy this interview. A followup to TTTW is in the works. One day I will have to pick up Niffenegger’s Her Fearful Symmetry.

  5. I was impressed and moved by Gravity, which I saw in IMAX 3D. Bullock’s performance was rock solid, the visuals were amazing, and the pacing terrific. Strongly recommended.

Leave a Reply

