The Raven Prince

I read the rest of The Raven Prince by Elizabeth Hoyt in one gulp. Thoroughly enjoyed it and I will be picking up The Leopard Prince.

That said, I am glad I didn’t read the back cover until I was hooked. (If you haven’t read the book, the rest of this post has spoilers. Well, I guess they’re only spoilers if you read the back blurb.)

When Anna becomes the earl’s secretary, it would seem that both their problems are solved. Then she discovers he plans to visit the most notorious brothel in London for his “manly” needs. Well! Anna sees red—decides to assuage her “womanly” desires…with the earl her unknowing lover.

To me this just cries, modern woman in historical dress. (It also sounds plain silly, but what do I know about blurbs?) But Anna, and The Raven Prince, are charming and, despite this plot device (and, yes, other anachronistic behavior), the book works. I just had to think of it as alternative world and I was good to go.

What worked was the humor, and the characters who I came to care for very much indeed. When she first sees him, he’s ugly, if compelling, and when he first sees her, she’s plain. They have great difficulty communicating their friendship and attraction. And the author clearly shows (without telling or beating me over the head) that the hero has been molded by his traumatic past.

I’m not the only one who liked The Raven Prince. It won reader awards at and received an A- from AAR. Jane of Dear Author gave it a B and Rosario gave it a B+.

ETA: Have no idea why I kept calling this The Raven‘s Prince. But, now corrected.

Leave a Reply

